Firsts

I’m thinking how few things are firsts as you get older and how many things are firsts when you are younger.  Starting with your first peek at the world outside the uterus, you get to experience one first after another.  When does the day come when you don’t have a first at all?  If I were a true live in the moment woman, then this is the first time I’ve blogged on this keyboard in front of this computer screen at 1:54 p.m. on Thursday, May 12, 2011.  Weird. 

This started out as a saga of my grandson Travis’ recent first…a first haircut.  And judging by the look of suspicion and unease on his 1 year old face, it was not a good first!  In fact, I think I get that look when you suggest to me that I do things in a new way.  

I’ve been driving a friend’s son to work every day.  My usual drive includes Morning Edition on 90.3 or silence.  My current drive includes C101’s early morning verbal diarhea team of DJ’s who seem to be rascist misogynist twits.  Did I say ‘seem to be’?  Pretty sure that midway across the Harbor Bridge, I look like an older, female version of Travis.

Take heart, Travis.  A first doesn’t last forever!  And resistence is futile…they come like Christmas whether you want them or not.

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
Aside | This entry was posted in Family, Hmmmm. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

