Great gifts!

I never really know what I want or need.  I am one of those people who jump around like a preschooler needing a restroom when someone asks for volunteers. 

“Pickme, pickme, pickme!!!!” 

And then I wonder what I was thinking after I get picked.

I’ve done the same thing with STUFF.  Been absolutely sure that IT would be perfect, what I always wanted, , what I needed for heaven’s sake. 

And then I wonder what I was thinking.

So, I scoffed at the Keurig.  I have favorite loved ones who got one for Christmas and who extol their virtues.  But I thought they were being silly in my secret heart. 

I may have been covetous.

Yesterday I had lunch with my 2 granddaughters and my daughter in law and was gifted with a Keurig for Easter/Mother’s Day.

And I have to tell you it was love at first sight.

This is the best gift I never knew I wanted!

Maybe it’s the red, sleek color.  Maybe it’s the shiny stainless that sets off the red color.  Definitely, the fact that there’s almost no clean up is extraordinary.

The first cup of designer coffee with a touch of half and half transported me to an Italian street cafe where 20 pounds and years melted away along with the frizz and white in my ashy blonde hair.   Wow!  That’s powerful stuff!

I’m pretty sure that I will be able to cut glass and design benches and suncatchers better with a cup from that Keurig.  I will become a more creative artist.  And the dust bunnies in my house will fear me and evacuate instantly!

I’m not being facetious.  This is a great gift and I had no idea I wanted or needed it.  But MH, Nina and Savanna did! 

And the best gift of all was seeing their faces light up at my pleasure with the gift. 

No.  Actually, THEY are the outstanding gift!  We don’t share one drop of blood, but we have shared life and death, desperate tragedy and hilarious joy.  We have a history that transcends DNA. 

That they care about me, hustle me into their lives…that’s a miracle in itself, I think.  How lucky I am to be able to watch them evolve into the strong, intelligent, loving, funny gorgeous women they are today.

What a great group of gifts!

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

