Waking to no apocalypse

From Adrie's FB share
Raptured?

I really didn’t give the world ending on May 21, 2011 much credence.  As the furor built and more was reported in the news, it became evident that lots of people really put their faith in the world ending yesterday.

 
MSN had a survey with 5-6 things that you might do if the world were ending on Saturday (drink, have sex, quit your job, visit another continent, max out your credit cards, all of the above).  There wasn’t an option that said, “No change in routine.”  That would have been my pick if I could have the people I love around me while I didn’t change my routine.
 
As silly as I thought this Harold Camping was, it amazes me that the purveyor of the world ending on May 21 theory could have such a belief and sell so many people on it.  That’s some salesmanship.
 
I’m just wishy-washy enough to question EVERYTHING and wonder if I’m seeing things sideways.  I can only be enthusiastic for awhile about a few things.  However much I might want to believe, my cynicism kicks in and I have to mitigate. 
 
If this was a  test for believers and the cosmic alarm clock goes off on May 21, 2012 or next week, I hope the believers are still ready.  For myself, I’m still checking the box “No change in routine.”

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Hmmmm. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

