The problem with inconsistency

I never do the same thing the same way two times in a row.  Well, maybe twice but NEVER three times in a row.  I shared about this at a meeting last night and one of the women there said that she had trouble filing because she has the same trait.  I understand that. 

File something under “Work” one month, start another file labelled “Employment” the next, and end up starting a third labelled “Job” when I can’t find the other two.   I would immediately buy a set of keys and purse that emitted a noise so I could find them.  At least the cell phone rings or vibrates when I lose it.

While this might keep a CIA hit man from shooting me-since I don’t travel to and from work the same way-it is a trait that has caused me delay and annoyance.  I have misplaced my wallet today and I’m making pacts with God that I will mend my inconsistent ways if I find it.

I’ve shaken down my house, Bob’s house, the trash, the car…but no wallet.  I’ve recounted my steps, retraced my path…nope.  Can’t find it.  I am so distracted by this that even Bob’s son, who is my rider to work each morning, noticed and asked if I were ok.  “Fine,” I answered tersely. 

When I nearly missed the exit to his job and had to cross three lanes of traffic and solid white lines with jiggle bars to get there, I had to confess that I’d lied and that I was self absorbed with my lost wallet.  He, of course, rapid fired places I’d already checked. 

Who steals my purse steals trash...dag nabbit!

I told him the only place I haven’t looked is his dad’s truck.  We rode together to the meeting last night and I’m holding hope that I left it there.  No point in texting him about it.  He parks miles away from the gate and KOS is a little bit weirdo about employees taking off in the middle of the day.

The good news is that I don’t have any cash and my bank account is on a money diet.  I’m pretty sure my voter’s reg and aquarium membership have minimal value to any but me.  In my case, Iago’s quote, “Who steals my purse steals trash; ’tis something, nothing” is really true. 

So,  I can obsess a little longer and wait until 5:30 when Bob goes to his truck.

Psssst!!!!  It was in Bob’s truck!

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Hmmmm, Sober Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

