Freer isn’t just a person who frees

 
Things that go thu-bump in the night

One of the perks of my job is that I get to travel. 

My travel doesn’t take me out of the state or the country.  In fact, if I travel much further than 100 miles out of Corpus, I think I need a passport.  Which is why going to a pre-bid in Freer, Texas nearly qualifies for one. 

The road to Freer, Texas is about as desolate as you can get in south Texas.  I’ve never travelled it without running over a snake big enough to make my car go ‘thu-bump.’ 

 

I was looking up recipes for rattlesnake last night.  That was inspired by a late night phone call the previous evening to Bob from  friends who live in the wilds of Bayside. 

“Bob.  I think there’s a rattlesnake on my porch.”

The result was a long conversation about what to do which ended in the conclusion that they would need to call someone if the snake were still on the porch in the morning.  That was not the conclusion that Bob had wanted but he deferred to my frantic hand signals that 10:30 at night was too late to drive 30 miles into the country to kill a snake for the next night’s dinner.

It did get me looking for ways to cook snake.

My relationship with

Grilled snapper throats surrounded by chicken leg quarters

 Bob has resulted in my learning how to cook deer, feral pig, and alligator.  Last night we cooked red snapper throats, a delicacy in circles that now include me.  I think Bob’s philosophy is that if you shoot it or catch it, you better be ready to eat it—all of it.

That might be a good philosophy.  If all the grocers had been raptured Saturday and Bob and I had been left behind, we’d have had plenty of meat until the earthquakes got us.

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Jobs, Wild game cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

