Quiero cafe!

Behind every successful woman is a substantial amount of coffee. Stephanie Piro

I was 2 years old when I started drinking coffee.   My dad had stopped smoking and was looking for early morning peace.  My mom was pregnant and looking for early morning sleep. I was an early riser.  I was set in my rocking chair with The Pokey Little Puppy, Patty the Catty and a tiny cup of mostly milk, a little sugar and a half teaspoon of coffee.
 
A relationship was born.
 
Fifty-plus years later, I usually drink a pot or two during the day. In a nod to osteoporosis, I add half & half.  I’m not sure what I think that does, but it tastes nice and I feel rich with the addition.
 
People who love me know that coffee is my favorite beverage.  In my drinking days coffee stood between me and a killer hangover.  It’s still my cure for pretty much everything.  Headache?  Coffee.  Sore throat? Iced coffee.  Stomach ache? Coffee with crackers.  Diarrhea? Coffee with Pepto. 
 
I  got one of the first coffee pots that permitted robbing the pot before it was finished brewing.  Today, I have a backup coffee pot ‘just in case.’  That’s beside the Keurig that my daughter in law and grand-daughters gave

Coffee should be black as Hell, strong as death, and sweet as love. Turkish Proverb

me last month.   In fact, coffee pots, cups, coffee, and assorted caffeine related paraphernalia have comprised most of my birthday and Christmas presents. When Jack got his first job, he bought my Mother’s Day present with his first check. And it was…a coffee pot!
 
I drink coffee until I go to bed.  I hear rumors that coffee keeps you awake at night.  For me, they are apocrypha.  I must be just ADD enough for coffee to settle down my thoughts.
 
At AA meetings, we always drink coffee.  In fact, you hear in the rooms that anyone can start a meeting with a friend and a coffee pot.  (Yeah.  I know it’s with a resentment and a coffee pot, but I like my way better.)
 
One of my meetings-the Tuesday night Big Book study-serves only decaf coffee. At first, nobody would grab a cup.  Even now, the meeting is only a one pot meeting.  The caffeinated meetings?  Rarely do we keep it down to 2 pots over the hour.
 
I like reading about the health benefits of drinking coffee.   It was recently discovered that coffee drinkers are less likely to have type 2 diabetes, Parkinson’s disease, and dementia than non-coffee drinkers.  We also have fewer incidences of colon cancer, heart rhythm problems and strokes.  Coffee has anti-oxidants.  I had a doctor who thought I should cut down on my coffee consumption.  In sobriety, I’m honest about what I consume.   If you don’t agree or want to make some crazy recommendation, I might have to un-friend you…or un-doctor you, in this case. 
 
I prefer coffee that’s described as bold or dark.  I’m not sure I’ve had coffee that was too strong.  If it’s willing to walk out of the cup to my mouth, that much better.  But too weak?  Oh no!  My little sister makes weak coffee, the kind that you can see through.  So when she gets up to make coffee, one of us drop tackles her while the other starts the coffee.  Not really but close.
 
I gave up coffee for Lent one year.  After surviving the 40 days, I swore I would stay somewhat decaffeinated.  That lasted for less than a week.  The coffee compulsion returned and I was back to slogging back a pot of coffee before 10.  I have never done anything as insane since that Lent.
 
 There are certain things that I would not want to do without.  Coffee’s in the top 5.  At 5 a.m., it’s edging out drawing paper, pencils, and books for #2.  At that time of the morning the bathroom is #1. 

This coffee tastes like mud! Well, it was ground this morning. ~Old Vaudeville joke

 

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Favorites, Sober Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

