Facebooking

I started doing Facebook because Nina and Savanna do Facebook.  I love reading what they are thinking and doing.  But I’m a prowler and, until I started this blog, didn’t share on a consistent basis-I was just reading everybody else’s shares and getting annoyed when people didn’t share.   

I hadn’t heard the term “crack-book” as synonymous with Facebook until I was at an NA meeting.  People were talking about how they could lose hours playing the games and contacting friends.  I can see how devotion to FB could lead to nutsy behavior. 

For example, there’s a woman in Philadelphia who hired a hit man through Facebook.  “I will pay somebody a stack to kill my baby father,” Eley London posted on her profile.  To which, Tim Bynum posted, “Say no more … what he look like? … Where he be at?”  He agreed to kill Baby Father for $1,000 which seems like a bargain to me.  Lucky for Baby Father, his aunt was one of Baby Mama’s FB friends and she called the police.

Then, there’s the Salt Lake City man who updated his  FB page while he held a woman hostage.  In his first post, Juan Valdez wrote “I love u guys and if I don’t make it out of here alive that I’m in a better place and u were all great friends.”  He  shared two pics of himself and the woman barricaded in a hotel room with “Got a cute ‘Hostage’ huh.”    The showdown ended shortly after Valdez posted “…dumb bastards made an attempt to come in after i told them not to, so i popped off a couple more shots and now were startin all over again it seems…” 

According to the Pew Research Center:

"After months of work I want to show you all my social Tattoo. Pretty amazing right ?" says YouTube user Suzyj87

    • Facebookers  are 2.5 times more likely to go to a meeting or rally, 57% more likely to affect another’s vote, and 43% more likely to say they’ll vote.
    • Today’s average American Internet user spends almost 16% of his or her online time on social networking sites, compared to 8% in July 2007; social networking has jumped 25% over the past year.
    • AND social networkers have more friends (9% more) and get more support, companionship, and “instrumental aid” than non-networkers

YouTube user Suzyj87 of the Netherlands supposedly got faces of her 152 FB friends tattooed on her arm.  It turns out that she did not spend 30 hours getting her arm inked but got temp tats instead.  They will scrub off in a few days…after a few hours.  Wonder if she YouTubed the scrubbing off process. 

I got a lotta best friends. Some o' them I don't even hardly know! - Archie Bunker

I like Facebook better since I started really using it.  I’ve gotten over the immediate “they like me, they really like me” reaction that I first got when someone asked me to be their FB friend or commented positively on a share.  I’m too much of a people pleaser to be able to NOT friend someone when asked, but I’ve got several names in the queue of people I don’t really know, who are friends of friends, and who I keep ignoring the request to friend. 

Ummm.  If you are one of them, I just overlooked your request.  I’m not really ignoring it.  Dang.  That people pleaser thing dies hard.

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

