I love a vacation!

Mother in 1964 on our Six Flags vacation

No matter what happens, travel gives you a story to tell.
— Jewish Proverb

I start my vacation on Friday, July 1.  From the 1st to the 4th Bob and I are going to Huntsville State Park.  His son, Drew, lives near Spring and the park is a close camping and fishing spot for us to visit with him.  When I get back on the 4th, I’ll be beaching it with GE, Jonathan, and the g’babies.  If I’m lucky, I’ll be able to kidnap Mary Helen and the girls so we can hang out together.  I think it’s been long enough since Sophia terrorized Wing Stop-or maybe not. 

I love everything about my vacation time.  I like seeing new places and trying out new foods.  We won’t do much of that this week, but I haven’t ever camped in east Texas so that will be an adventure.  For that matter, I haven’t really camped with Bob except for overnights at the beach so that might be the real adventure.

Since I got sober, I never travel without knowing where there’s an AA meeting.  I already have a couple of sober contacts in that area.  Part of the fun of travelling sober-other than knowing what you did and where you are-is visiting different AA groups.  I’m looking forward to an east Texas AA meeting.

Growing up, vacations were usually spent in San Antonio at Grandma’s or at Montell with our aunt and cousin.   We were the kind of family who started trips, both home and back, with the rosary.  I think our parents were trying to lull us into a car nap and it worked.  I still have a hard time staying awake when someone else is driving.

Savanna, Jack, and Nina at the San Antonio Zoo, Spring Break 2000

I didn’t know that people took real vacations to real vacation spots until I was older.  I still consider the Witte Museum, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamo my top places to visit.  As an adult, I’ve added the San Antonio Museum of Art. 

 I’ve gotten to take some great trips with the kids. One of my favorites was a trip we took to North Carolina when Georgie graduated from college.  I’d never been to that part of the

GE and Jack at Mount Vernon, 1998

country and it was beautiful.  We got to ride a ferry to the barrier islands and dip our toes in the Atlantic Ocean.  I’m always surprised by how much cooler the Atlantic and Pacific are than the Gulf of Mexico.  We looked like shore birds when we ran to the water and jumped back when the chill saltwater touched our toes.

Jack at the Mardi Gras museum, New Orleans, 2003

My first trip to New Orleans was with Georgie, Jack and I in 2003.  I am usually a super controller when I go on vacation, but this time, I let Georgie do the planning.  She gave us our daily itinerary and we followed it religiously.  Come to think of it, Georgie’s a little controlling herself but she came by it honestly. 

When we went the 2nd time in 2005, we went with MA, Gerald and Claire.  It was Jack’s resemblance to Jack Osborne that gave us enjoyment.  He handed out autographs to teen girls as Imposter Jack and even invited Tony Hawk to his house-the one in Los Angeles, not the one in Portland, TX.

“Laughter is an instant vacation.” Jack and Nina in the Imposter Jack years

For me, the best part of a vacation-whether to Port Aransas or much further away-is a chance to laugh.  It is the laughter than binds the shared memories for me.  This next week will be full of that, I have not a doubt. 

 
 
 

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

