Sisterhood of the Travelling Flip-flops

The Sisterhood of the Travelling Flip-Flops

GE and the kids spent last week-end at my house.  I am knocked over with gratitude for the daughters (well, one is a daughter in law) and grand-daughters I have.  I’m not tossing out Travis, my lone grand-son or Jack, my lone son.  They have my heart, too.  And I have an incredible son-in-law in Jonathan who makes it possible for us to be together like we were last week-end. 

I am thankful for the bond that mothers can have with their daughters!  I see it daily with Mary Helen, Nina and Savanna as the three of them

It's not easy being a mother. If it were easy, fathers would do it. ~From the television show The Golden Girls

share private and public jokes on Facebook.  Lunch with the three of them is like taking the Pink Collar Comedy Tour.  If laughter is the best medicine, then they will have long and healthy lives.  The really cool thing about the way Mary Helen has raised the girls is that she’s let them be individuals.  She might not have much choice in that respect.  Nina and Savanna are polar opposites; they are still on this planet most of the time but diametrically opposed in most ways.  Their love for their mother is undeniable; I know that because it spills over onto me as their g’mother!

I love to watch GE with Sophia.  They are both hard-headed and soft-hearted.  Much

Some mothers are kissing mothers and some are scolding mothers, but it is love just the same, and most mothers kiss and scold together. ~Pearl S. Buck

better than being the other way around; then, they’d have to be Republicans.  Sophia puts her hands on her hips and tries to stare down GE.  Good luck with that, honey! GE inherited the ability from her grandmother to give the Eagle Eye to those who might disobey her.  I can’t do it.  It must skip a generation.  The stand-off always ends with a grudging “ok, I’ll do it” from Sophia and a smile and a hug from GE.  GE’s love for Sophia is almost visible in its intensity.  Right now, we have plenty of Sophia-isms.  We spent the week-end saying “Oh, stew it!” whenever we didn’t want to do or think about something.  

A daughter is a little girl who grows up to be a friend. ~Author Unknown

As one of three sisters, I never thought much about raising a daughter.  When GE came along, I was confidant that I knew what I was doing.  The truth?  I didn’t have a clue.  Much too young and too selfish, I wasn’t as good a mom as she deserved.  One of the gifts of sobriety is that I have the chance to make amends to her on a daily basis.  Can I erase the past?  Nope.  But I don’t have to repeat it.

GE, the kids, and I cruised Hobby Lobby on Saturday looking for a ‘project.’  Sophia’s used to doing projects with her mom that involve markers, glue, and paper.   Nina is more crafty with food and plants than we are, but all 6 of us are good at making something from nothing.  Just one more thing that links us.   

GE diverted Sophia from the 150 piece doll furniture kit and got her interested in flip-flop manufacture.  We flopped around in our new shoes Saturday night and Sunday morning.  They just lend themselves to flopping.   She left the makings for more pairs of pink flip-flops so I’m making pairs for MH, Nina and Savanna. 

When I can do something or nothing, talk or be silent with someone, I know that we share hearts.  That’s the way it is with Mary Helen, Georgie, Nina, Savanna and Sophia.  No matter what happens, bad or good, no matter how old they get, we are linked together heart to heart.

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Family, Sober Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

