Chicken Mescla Salad

I had lunch at the Acapulco Restaurant on Saratoga with Mary Helen and the girls to celebrate Nina’s birthday.  MH and Savanna always have cheese enchiladas with double beans and no rice; Nina always has beef enchiladas with double rice and no beans.  I always have the Acapulco mixed salad.  Here’s my imitation recipe of the dish.  It’s very close if not on the money.
 
I’m not sure if “mescla” is spelled right or not.  In English it means, if I spelled it correctly in Spanish, mixed.  When I was learning how to mix group, the concrete finisher where I worked kept telling me I needed to make a “mescla” of cement and sand.  I thought I needed some kind of special tool until Max explained it just means mix or mixed.  Oh.
 
Ingredients:
  • 1 fully ripened avocado
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons lime juice
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 4 cups iceberg lettuce, finely chopped
  • 1/4 c. fresh oregano leaves,  chopped
  • 2  boneless chicken breast halves, boiled in seasoned water until done, cooled, and shredded 
  • 1 large tomato, peeled, seeded, and chopped
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped white onion
Preparation:
  1. Cut lengthwise around middle of avocado; twist avocados to separate halves; slice.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk olive oil, lime juice, salt and pepper, to taste.
  3. Mix together lettuce, oregano, onion, tomato, and chicken in serving bowl.  Add olive oil mix (reserving 2 T.) and toss so everything is fully coated. 
  4. Press into bowl and invert mounded onto plate.  Top with avocado; drizzle 2 T. of dressing over avocados
  5. Serves 4 as side dish or 2 as main dish
  6. This is best assembled just before eating.  You can prep all the components and put it together in 5 minutes.

    Best salad ever with some of my favorite people!

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Corpus Christi, Family, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

