Hair me out

The blonde on the left is me. Darn curly hair!

It’s been about a month since I auditioned a hair stylist.   I had a good stylist; the price was right.  She is funny and quick at cutting my hair.  I looked like a $m,ill,ion when I walked out of her shop.  Thanks to her, I know how to use a flat-iron since she cut and styled my hair in a straight style.  Did I want a straight hair style? 

No, but I do look good in the style she gave me.  When I went to her the first time several years ago, I took 4-5 pics of hairstyles I thought might work.  After a brief glimpse at what I brought, she set the photos aside and cut my hair to my current style which does not look a thing like any of the pics I brought her.

No care hair (and a cute daughter and g-daughter)

I am ready for a hair style change and I didn’t see that happening with this nice lady.  I decided to change stylists.  It wasn’t a decision I made lightly.  Don’t get me wrong.  I am not a loyal client.  I will drop a hairdresser faster than you can say L’Oreal.  But this lady had cut my hair long enough that I felt like she was a friend.  Reluctantly, I cheated on her, booked a hair cut with someone else, and tried out a new hair stylist.  She passed the test which was to restore the existing hair cut to a condition resembling its appearance 2 months previous.  I have a pet peeve against hair dressers who ask how much to take off and who cut well past the “about an inch” that I request.  She didn’t go nuts and chop like a ninja.  Sorry.  Too many infomercials. 

I sound like I’m picky about my hair and that isn’t true.  I’m not good with hair. I do know how to use a blow-dryer; it’s just boring.  Five minutes into the operation, I turn the heat up to high, put the blower on top speed, set aside my hairbrush, and dry my hair.  In about 3 minutes, I look like Margaret the Blonde Zulu. 

My hair is straight because I was travelling with my stylist, GE

I want the hair cut that doesn’t exist.  I want one that takes 20 years and 20 pounds off.  I want a hair cut that doesn’t require any effort on my part or just a minimal effort.  I’d like one that looks just like I stepped out of the salon even if I’m the one doing the styling.  Did I mention that I don’t want to pay more than $25 for it, including the tip?

There’s a quote by Orlando Pita on the moneycentral.msn.com website. Pita is a celebrity hair stylist in NYC who can get away with charging $800 for a haircut and a blow dry:  “For me a good haircut is a cut that doesn’t look like you’ve had your hair cut.”  For 800 bucks, I better look like I got a hair cut!

Curly hair is a genetic trait. It must be a strong one since just about everybody in my family has it.

Of course, if the stylist cuts my hair and then blows my hair dry, the whole world knows I got a hair cut.  It looks unbelievably great and won’t look that good again until I either get another hair cut or ask my daughter to flat-iron my hair.

I am surprised that hair cuts can cost so much money.  The average cost for a non-Super Cut hair cut in my part of south Texas is $30.  The Cosmo blog says that haircuts in NYC can be 14-18 times that.  Really.  Really?

Back in 2004, Kelly Bensimon from The Real Housewives of New York City told the New York Times, “I know women who spend $400 on a pair of shoes they wear once,” Ms. Bensimon said. “Why not spend $600 on a haircut that lasts for six months and turns a nobody into a somebody?” 

Sometimes my boss, for whom English is not his starter language, will say, “I don’t know what you mean when you say that, Margaret.”  I thought the same thing about Ms. Bensimon’s comment.

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Corpus Christi, Hmmmm. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

