Things you can do with a hunter

After 8 weeks of working 7/12’s, Bob’s project went out on a barge and he got 3 days off.  In a row.  I worked Friday while Bob recuperated from an 18 hour day.   On Saturday morning, we got up at 4:30 a.m. and went to Bayside so Bob could try out his archery skills and possibly kill a big buck.

I have mixed emotions about killing animals.  The only time I ever killed a deer was with my 79 Chevette and the deer got the best of the car and me.  I have no such mixed emotions about spending time with Bob.  I am always glad to do that.  Bob, for his part, made sure I had coffee with half and half and a reading light that is invisible to cervids. 

We arrived in the field about 5:15 prepared to grocery hunt.  At least Bob was.  I brought a book (The Camel Knows the Way) which I got for my birthday.  Lorna Kelly’s self published book is an incredibly good read.  Like all good books, it just isn’t long enough.

I also brought my drawing pad and did some sketching.  In a small deer blind, there’s not much to sketch so Bob was my model.  He’s not much for sitting still but he did accommodate me by reading the newspaper. 

Deer feeder: We thought the deer weren't buying the corn, but I found out that I'd set the timer wrong. Operator error. Again.

As the light got better, I could do some sketching outside the window.  I brought my camera but the deer were like a 10 month old child:  very cute until you get the camera out. 

It is very difficult  being still and quiet for 2 hours.  I also nearly got a bladder infection until I said something to Bob and he exploded with laughter.  (“OK.  Maybe if that big buck were out there, I might want you to hold off on going outside, but really, Margaret.  Oh! Oh!  I’m having a heart attack but Bob might need to kill a deer.”)  I got the point.

Bambi 1; Bob 0

Bob didn’t kill anything at all.  We saw a whole bunch of deer, but evidently, you use stealth if you want to shoot a deer with a bow and arrow.  Bob read a statistic that archery hunters usually don’t expect to get a deer on their first outing.  It generally takes 5-6 stalks before you land a deer according to bowhuntinginfo.com so Bob’s got a few more visits to the hunting grounds to get his deer.  And I’ve got a few more books to read.

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Family, Hunting and fishing, Texas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

