It’s (like) okay

"It's like, you know..."

Like is one of those words that I catch myself over-using.  Unless I am saying “I like your red and purple polka dot shirt,” I am saying the word too much.  I want to (like) poke myself with a broom straw when I (like) say it too much.  I went through a period of life when I said you know just like I say like.  I have relegated you know to the Obnoxious Phrase Hall of FameLike is only one word so I’m not sure if it qualifies, but it’s definitely a contender.  It’s not the only contender.  Here are some others.

5.  It’s all good.  Is it?  That puts homeless kittens, cancer, losing the football championship, and over-cooking a roast in the same plane of reference.  Yeah.  I don’t believe it IS all good.  I’m not sure how anybody who says that can believe that’s true.  If that means that I need to accept whatever comes along, I agree.  But that does not make it good and that does not mean that I have to like it.

4.  It happens.  Of course it happens; otherwise, you wouldn’t be saying that it happens.  I don’t even know what that’s supposed to mean.  It happens?  Is that  a consolation?  I wrecked my car…it happens.  My dog bit the mail carrier…it happens.  I won the lottery?  IT must not happen if something good happens.

If it is what it is, then what is it?

3.  It is what it is.  As opposed to It is what it isn’t?  Or It isn’t what it is?  I’m not always sure what it is so it’s hard for say if it is or isn’t.  This Obnoxious Phrase qualifies as stupid, over-used, and too subjective.  If it IS for you, it might not be for me. 

2.  I don’t want to hurt your feelings, but…My friend, Dan D., told me that it is what you say after but that you mean.  As in, “I really don’t want to hurt your feelings, but you look horrible in that dress” or “I don’t want to hurt your feelings, but I saw your husband dancing with your next door neighbor at a bar and they were dancing c-l-o-s-e.”  Really.  You don’t want to hurt my feelings?  Then, shut the heck up. 

1.  God never gives you more than you can handle.  First of all, how would you know that?  Second of all, if I can handle it, why would I need God?  Yeah.  Think about it.   There are some things in this life that are WAY more than I can handle.  I’ve been through divorce, cancer and death of a husband, and the loss of a child.  ALL those things were more than I with my limited human strength could handle.  After Jack died, I heard this phrase at least once a day.  I wanted to pummel the consoler-if that’s what you can call someone who utters such words-with a bath sponge and tell them to get a better phrase book.   God might not give you more than you can handle but LIFE sure the heck does.

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Corpus Christi, Hmmmm, Philosophy, Sober Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

