Super powers

What kind of super powers do you want to have?

There are two types of people in this world:  People who can answer the question and people who give you a “huh” look when you ask it.  You’d be surprised how many grown people can answer the question without a pause.  Since I am one of those adults, folks who look at you strangely and have never considered the answer surprise me.  I believe it’s cheating if you have to say you’ll have to think about it.  Obviously, you haven’t ranked super hero status as something to have.

Jack as Wolverine

I might have been one of those people but I was raised by a son who asked things like “What would it be like if the grass was green jello?” and “In a battle between Wolverine and Magneto, why would adamantium be a disadvantage?” (In case you wondered, adamantium is partially magnetic so Magneto can manipulate it somewhat.)  Normal dinner table conversation might revolve around which super hero I’d like to be or what would be the best super power to have. 

I thought about telepathy or the ability to see through walls, but most women have those abilities anyway.  (What are you doing, Georgie?  “Nothing.”  You need to put my make-up down and leave my stuff alone.  “I’m not doing anything.”  Sound of drawers sliding shut.)  It may be limited to children, spouses and partners, but it is pretty dang accurate.

Shape changing would be handy.  I wouldn’t have to worry about dieting.  Just re-image myself into a size 4. That would be a first.  I don’t think I wore a size 4 when I was 4.  It would be a money saver, too.  I used to have clothes that ranged from size 6 to size 16.  That was in the days of more closet space.  In my little house, stockpiling clothes for a size that may never come is impossible so sizes 8 and 10 are the only sizes that hang in my closet.  There are a couple of size 6’s thrown in but they really are 8’s in stretchy fabric.

A friend told me he wants the power of super intelligence and said that would be a good super power unless he got Alzheimer’s.  (“Wouldn’t you have already found a cure for Alzheimer’s?” I asked.   “Oh, yeah.  I guess I would have.”) 

Another friend said she’d like to travel through time.  Really?  I am an alcoholic.  I have time travelled my whole life.  Shift to the past and relive the resentments.  Flash to the future and preview the fears.  MY challenge is just to stay in this day.

Teleportation was very cool in Star Trek and a disaster for The Fly

I would like to teleport.  Can you imagine how much time I would save if I didn’t have to drive?   I bet I drive 2 hours a day.  Blink.   Home.  Blink.  Grocery store.  Blink.  GE’s house.  Come to think of it.  It might be a pain in the rear for everybody else since I could pop onto their doorstep in a flash.  (“Uhhh, Mom?  You couldn’t have called first?”)

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Hmmmm, Humor, Sober Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Super powers

  1. I’d like to fly, please. I can already do the other stuff.

  2. Rob Rubin says:

    I’d like the ability to like Brussel sprouts. I think that would most definitely require a super power.

Leave a Reply

