Food log

This is not the face of a child who turns down a meal.

I am a dietary doxy, a food floozy.  I will gladly cheat on my low sodium V-8 juice with a Reese’s PB Blizzard at DQ.  I consider a balanced meal a tablespoon of PB in one hand with a tablespoon of jelly in the other.  I have my preferences, but with the exception of Brussel sprouts, I haven’t met a food I couldn’t eat.  Starvation is not a pre-requisite.   Too full or too sweet are foreign to me.

My favorite show is Top Chef.  I keep the Food Network on as background when I’m working around the house.  I have a shelf full of cookbooks which I use.   And 20 pounds that I need to lose.

Every time that I go to my doctor, I get that reminder.  This year, I’m making a pre-emptive strike on the weight.  Usually, I wait until I am on my last refill of Synthroid before making my doctor’s appointment.  At that time, I go on a diet that makes colonoscopy prep look like a party.  I make sure the appointment is early in the day, I wear a dress with flats (no jeans or NB sneakers), and when I step on the scale, I weigh 1 pound over (or under) my weight of the last visit.  RATS!

This time, I’m starting early.  When I say early, I mean months in advance.  I don’t even have to see the doctor until June.  Part of my plan is using a food log.  According to a study published in the August 2008 edition of the American Journal of Preventive Medicine, using a food journal at least 6 days a week is an effective weight loss tool.  The journal studied over 1,600 adults who were overweight or obese.  The participants who kept up with their food log lost twice as much weight as those who didn’t.

I’ve done this off and on for the past couple of years, but this time I’m going for an honest accounting.  I’m not exactly dishonest.  I do this “It’s a cup…more or less” thing.  Good food (as in carbs) are usually more.  Bad food (as in healthy) are usually less.  I’m measuring what I put on my plate.  Weighing it.  I killed my last food scale weighing cement for concrete stepping-stones.  When the springs fall out, it’s time to buy a new one.  I went with non-digital, the cheapest kind.  I am no respecter of things mechanical.

I also am scrupulously logging in what I eat even when I have exceeded caloriecount.com’s daily 1,200 calorie suggestion for weight loss.  (They also suggest exercise but one suggestion at a time.)   Before I hit my honest streak a couple of weeks ago, I would stop entering foods when I got close to 1,200 calories.  And wondered why I wasn’t losing weight.  Over the last 14 months, with 13-1/2 of them being dishonest months, I’ve lost and gained the same 4 pounds. 

Last week when I was the bottomless pit of junk food, the cold reality of eating 2,300 calories of crappola hit home when I saw it on the computer monitor.  Son of a gun.  Nothing but carbs and fat.  If I’d had to estimate, I’d have said maybe 1,800 calories but there it was. 

I had eaten an entire bag of Cool Ranch Doritos before I saw that the bag contained 3.5 servings at 180 calories a serving.  Do you think they really mean that the whole bag contains 630 calories?  I had the same trouble with a bag of mixed nuts.  The 260 calories was for one serving; the bag contained 3.  Sneaky sons of beasts!  I wouldn’t have noticed that if I weren’t logging in my food. 

.

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Diet, Food, Food journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

