Pinteresting, very pinteresting

I recently discovered Pinterest.  Actually my daughter and niece led me there a month ago.  I signed up for it and then nothing.  I had no idea what to do.  If I signed on to Pinterest, I found dozens of cute, clever, interesting, and/or inspiring pictures with Georgie or Claire’s name on them.  Shortly, I had a couple of friends’ names appearing with pictures.  I still didn’t know how Pinterest worked.  I checked it occasionally, hoping that there was some kind of instruction manual.  But no.   I stayed baffled with it.

Finally, last week-end, Georgie and Claire mentored me in the ways of Pinterest.  I love it!  Now, I understand the bumper stickers that say “Thank you Pinterest for helping me feel creative even though I’ve really just been sitting at my computer for the last 3 hours.”  It’s like having Architectural Digest, Artist’s Network, Style, SELF, BHG, Southern Living, and any other magazine that I crave at my disposal without the cost.  There are infinite ideas and I just love the website now that I know how to use it.

I looked up the history of Pinterest today.  I tried yesterday but Wilkipedia had a blackout due to SOPA/PIPA protests.  I didn’t know much about those two pieces of legislation until then when I indignantly looked up what was interfering with my information trek.  That’s when I joined the WordPress protest and attached a ribbon to my blog. 

Three men created Pinterest:  Ben Silbermann, Evan Sharp, and Paul Sciarra.  It is an online pinboard that lets you collect and explore things that interest you.  Work began on it in December, 2009; it was an invitation only site until 2011.  By August, 2011 Time Magazine named Pinterest one of the “50 Best Websites of 2011.”  By December it was getting 11 million visits a week.

In an interview with HGTV’s Kim Stoeghauer, Silbermann said that “As a kid, I loved collecting…I thought it would be great to bring that entire experience online and help connect people who have common interests.”

He added, “There is a poster by one of the designers at Facebook that says “Done is Better than Perfect”. We have a copy hanging in our office as a reminder of how important it is to push things forward all the time. Our little team is obsessed with making Pinterest into a service that makes people’s lives more inspiring and fun. That means that we can’t be afraid to try new things and learn from our mistakes.”

In case you are in a browsing mood, check out Silbermann’s pinboard and a few others that he finds amazing:

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Favorites, Hmmmm, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

