Journalling for food

I got back to keeping a food journal on January 5 of this year.  The next few days don’t really count because I spent them thinking about keeping the journal, but I didn’t post anything.  You know how I am.  Judge me by my intentions and not my actions.

But for the past 35 days, I’ve been pretty scrupulous and I’m seeing some benefits.  Not fast.  I’m not doing such a good job at adding exercise.  But I’ve dropped 6 pounds which is 2 pounds past the 4 pounds that I gained and lost 10 or 12 times over the past 3 years.  You’ll notice that’s just a bit more than a pound a week which sounds good.  The reality is that I lost 3 pounds the first week and have eked out the next 3 pounds over 4 weeks.  Not that good but I am trending down.

I bought a couple of exercise videos which I watched while sitting on the couch.  It’s inevitable that I will have to add exercise.  I just don’t want to.  Even with my 6 pound loss, I’ve still got flab poking over the top of my jeans.  I tried on bigger waisted jeans, but they fall down over my hips.  I’m built like a stick.  A fat stick but straight up and down.  A perfect 38-34-35.  Thank gosh for the knockers or I’d look like a man.

Besides journalling, I’ve found a couple of other helps to dieting.  My family is a big help.  GE and Jonathan have been on a weight loss voyage since last May.  My niece Claire is on a serious workout regimen, going to the extreme of planning an entry in Beach to Bay.  That’s crazy talking in my world.  (Beach to Bay is a 6 leg relay marathon that extends from the beach on Padre Island on the Gulf of Mexico to Cole Park on Corpus Christi Bay.)  Max’s son, Max Too, is training for Beach to Bay and dieting as well.  It helps when he greets me each morning with  “Did you eat breakfast?”  or “What did you eat last night?”  It keeps me accountable.    

It also helps me make better choices.  When GE and family are with me, they are more likely to have healthy snacks which encourages me to pay attention to what I’m eating.  I’ve noticed that staying away from sweeteners of all kinds-sugar, honey, and sugar subs-lessens sweet cravings.  Likewise, eating healthy diminishes my desire to mug an 8-year-old for her Snickers bar.  

And using the Calorie Counter website is a big assist.  I love Whataburger’s patty melt; I order the Jr. to save calories.  Not much of a help.  The regular patty melt (with 2 patties) is 1,000 + calories.  The Jr. version (with 1 patty)?  750 calories.  Since my daily calorie budget is 1,200 calories, and I usually save 450-500 calories for dinner, I am way over my limit.  Dang! Fast food is my Nemesis.  There’s nothing more comforting than a big old Whataburger or large slice of pizza, but there’s just not enough nutrition in either one to justify the calories consumed or the exercise avoided. 

Watching my intake balanced by the approximate calories used explains  why I’m not getting a significant weight loss.  If I am scrupulous about 1,200 calories a day and use about 1,600 calories a day, I get to bank a 400 calorie deficit.  9 days in a row=1 pound.  When I look at it like that, it will take about 180 days to lose the 20 pounds the doctor thinks I should drop. Since I have to go in August, I’d better hustle up the weight loss or look for black market Synthroid. 

Better get off the couch.

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Diet, Family, Food journal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Journalling for food

  1. GE says:

    So funny! Mose told me she is going to get serious on Wednesday for Lent. What weight loss strategy are you going to get serious about?

Leave a Reply

