I (c)aunt wait!

I love laughter and laughing.  I have a loud, deep belly laugh which startled my parents the first time I released my first baby guffaw.  My family members have ready laughs.  When I say family, I mean in-laws and out-laws, by marriage and by blood.  In short, wacky-doodle kin surround me and I love that!

Favor candy kisses

I am getting ready for a road trip to GE’s house.  She’s hosting her cousin Adrie’s pre-shower get together.   I am not excited about the 3+ hour drive with only my blind Bosty Betsy (that has a nice ring to it) for company, but I love the family I will see for the shower prep and for the lingerie shower.

Tonight is the Sophia school program.  I can’t miss the chance to watch Sophia on stage.  She stole the show at her dance recital a couple of years ago to the chagrin of her parents, the bewilderment of her fellow dancers, and the horror of her dance teacher.  She lost her place in the dance and reverted to a 40″ blond Lucille Ball as she mugged the audience, twirled and pirouetted across the stage, and channelled every Disney princess move she’d seen.  She set a high bar for future recitals so I’m not sure what to expect.

GE will have to walk us through the cookie decorating

By tomorrow noon, Claire and Mary Ann will join us for shower prep.  We did prelim work on the favors a couple of weeks ago and will finish things before the Sunday morning shower.  We made all the chocolate candies and baked the heart cookies but still need to decorate them.   Crazy is a relative term in my family.  There’s plenty of work, but I know we will work amid laughter and talk and I can’t wait!

I’ve been told that parents represent our past, children our future, and siblings represent both past and future.  My sisters are all that and two of my best friends as well.  I have enjoyed watching their girls grow up.

Alizon, Jack and Adrienne

Being an aunt is an under-rated job, but it has been amazing to watch my three nieces Alizon, Adrienne, and Claire grow into women.  It’s been even more fascinating to see them become wives and mothers.   A Spanish proverb says that “Only an Aunt can give hugs like a mother, can keep secrets like a sister, and share love like a friend.”  My nieces bless my life and I love being part of their lives!

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Family, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I (c)aunt wait!

  1. I love the family stories.

Leave a Reply

