Day 2-Festive Foods

I love festive foods because it means there’s a festive gathering and I have yet to have a festive gathering without my family and friends.  I am not a caterer, after all.  I don’t even have catering delusions, but I do love cooking and serving things that are memorable and delicious. Memorable doesn’t demand time-consuming preparation. I woke up on my 53rd birthday to a cute arrangement of donuts and sweet rolls thanks to my daughter, GE.

The preparation is half the fun when you are talking festive foods.  It could be more than half.  I love the chance to host bridal and baby showers.  Team Coleman consists of my daughter, daughter in law, granddaughters, sister, and niece.  I can rely on them to have 60 items on a Pinterest shower idea board within 30 minutes.  The ingenuity of strangers and the chance to borrow their creativity and shape it into my own astounds me.

Bikini cookies made for a bridal shower. Ideas stolen from Pinterest.

We brainstorm and thief ideas for weeks in advance of the shower; a lesser woman would have all the prep done well in advance.  Team Coleman thrives on the adversity and stress of last-minute preparations.  Inevitably, we end up at midnight trying to figure out how to ice lingerie cookies.  That’s where the real fun comes.  There’s something wonderful about the silliness generated by exhaustion.

A few years ago we hosted a shower for one of the Team Coleman members, my niece Claire.

GE made a teapot cake since we had a Tea Party theme

And a shower for Bob’s daughter, Chelsea.

Pink baby shower for a new baby complete with raspberry sherbet punch, pink star cake, and chocolate fountain.

GE and I have a tradition of making her daughter’s birthday cake together.

Sophia’s 3rd birthday party was at Chuckie Cheese’s so we make a cookie pizza.

For my birthday a few weeks ago, Team Coleman stayed out of the kitchen and went to a restaurant to celebrate.

Naked Lamb-burger at The Cove in San Antonio

I’ve got so many gratitudes surrounding festive foods.  The chance to plan and prepare it with my family is #1.  You would think we were planning a space shuttle launch if you could hear our conversations.  I am so thankful that we can afford these foods.  There have been times when we had to punt because what seemed like a good idea didn’t turn out.  How abundant is my life in all things material and of the heart!

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Family, Food, Gratitude, Relationships, Sober Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

