Day 6—My Job

Making a waterline tie in

It was just a little nutty of me to think I could write a daily gratitude blog when we have company visiting.  This is my 3rd one today and gets me caught up.  It’s been a super gratitude day!

If I say I love my job, I would be telling a lie about 19% of the time.  I don’t think that’s such a bad statistic.  American Psychological Association took a survey this year and found that 60% of American workers aren’t satisfied with their job, but most of them don’t plan to change jobs.  The tight job market doesn’t make quitting much of an option.

Excavating a pond

For the most part, I enjoy the work I do.  I was lucky in my early life.  Working utility and road construction was not in my life plan.  I never would have considered it as a career path.  When I was growing up being a nurse or teacher were the jobs I desired.  I toyed with the idea of being in business, but for the most part our relatives either educate or medicate.

When I became too smart for an education and dropped out of college, I ended up working in an office.  I was a receptionist for a small construction company and quickly got pushed into doing their payroll.  I did a horrible job because I’d lied to get the position.  A patient CPA helped me keep my job.  In time, I became the company’s bookkeeper, then office manager, and finally their estimator.

Cutting a street

Being an estimator evolved into being a project manager.  Today, I work for a small company doing both estimating and project management.   A friend owns and runs the company; his wife takes care of the office.  It’s a family owned, family run company and they consider me part of the family.

Every once in awhile, I think about moving on.  I’ve done this work for so long, I feel exhausted with the repetition.  Is this what I want to do for the rest of my life?  The answer is always yes.  The thing about construction is that there’s always something new to learn, some fresh twist, a different challenge.  I still get a special joy about seeing the job completed well, on time and under budget.

Would I feel the same if I’d been a teacher for the past 30 years?  I’ll never know.  I feel annoyed when someone says “you are right where you are supposed to be.”  It was true then and true today.   I’ve hung around God long enough to know that when it’s time to change jobs or careers, I will know beyond a shadow.

For now, I am lucky that I work with friends, can watch them grow and prosper.  That’s a real blessing.

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Construction work, Corpus Christi, God, Gratitude, Jobs, Sober Life, Texas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

