Day 10—Books

English: Frontispiece of the book The Story of...

English: Frontispiece of the book The Story of Little Black Sambo; the American version illustrated by Florence White Williams (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Once again, an incredibly good time with family bisected my plans to make a gratitude blog daily.  I could write a whole blog about that particular blessing, but I will stick to my gratitude list and write about books.

Some of my earliest memories are of being read to by my dad and my older sister, Georgie the 1st.  I think 6-year-old G-1 might have varied the words for impact because I remember mini-me, 4 years younger, correcting her and getting the hairy eyeball with a “Do YOU know how to read?  Well I do!”  She read dramatically, even if the words might change from one reading to the next and was my favorite storybook reader so I quickly nodded and she continued reading.

Our dad liked reading us our bedtime stories but he often dosed off while we looked at the pictures.  A “DADDY!  You’re asleep” got “Just resting my eyes, honey” in reply and the story continued.

My two personal favorites were the Poky Little Puppy and Little Black Sambo.  I liked hearing about the puppy mama’s desserts and I loved that the tigers turned into butter that was poured on pancakes.  I include desserts and pancakes in my personal grouping of foods.  My devotion to that food group explains why I am a life-sized pillow pet.  I’m not sure if Little Black Sambo is politically correct and still in publication, but it was a fun read for this little white girl.

Today, I read pretty much anything that has a satisfying ending.  On a new author, I read the last 10 pages to make sure the hero isn’t standing on a lonely highway with a Beretta in her hand and the mangled body of her lover at her feet.  I live in reality; I don’t care to read it.  Jim Butcher’s Dresden series, anything by Neil Gaiman, Tim Cockey’s Sewell series, and Kim Harrison’s Morgan series are favorites of mine.  Pure escape with a certain victory by the hero.  I have others that I like but I stalk books by those authors.

Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read. ~Attributed to Groucho Marx

I have a beautiful Nook today which contains more books than I can read in several months.  I find that I stockpile books like I used to stockpile cigs and liquor.  I never want to run out.  I went through a short non-reading period with GE’s dad who wasn’t much of a reader.  During our short marriage, I found myself reading labels on cans and cereal boxes in an attempt to satisfy my word withdrawal, eyes lingering lovingly on those seductive words, a little catch in my heart when I read an attractive phrase.

There are reasons why relationships don’t work and reading incompatibility is one of them for me.

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Books, Family, Gratitude, Humor, nostalgia, Sisters, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

