Spring fever

It’s spring fever.  That is what the name of it is.  And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!  ~Mark Twain
Bob watering our produce.  We planted on Feb 22 this year.  No chance for a freeze

Bob watering our produce. We planted on Feb 22 this year. No chance for a freeze

We’ve had spring in south Texas for a couple of months now.  Spring weather, really.  We celebrate the season on the calendar concurrent with the rest of the earth.  The weather wasn’t all that hot, but it was dry and didn’t act very wintry.  Low’s in the 50’s and high’s in the 70’s.  We planted our baby garden just after Valentine’s Day: tomatoes, eggplant, zucchini, cucumbers.  Replenished our herb garden.  There’s something decadent about walking outside and cutting rosemary or basil for the stew pot.

Cilantro and sage

Cilantro and sage

I was just thinking about using the word decadent for fresh herbs.  Maybe if I wore my imaginary diamonds with my Kors gown, dropping 24 ct. gold dust from my Delafee chocolates as I swirled to the front door.  I guess it’s all in what you think is luxury and fresh herbs are pretty indulgent to me.  I love watching the garden, seeing new blooms on the plants, tracking tomato growth a millimeter at a time.  I feel like Farmer Maggie when I water the plants in the evening, waiting for Bob to come from work.

That's as close to red as it gets.  Plucked it amid squirrel groans

That’s as close to red as it gets. Plucked it amid squirrel groans

We’re still having a little squirrel action on the cherry tomatoes.  It doesn’t take much CSI to notice the toothy bite out of individual tomatoes.  They watch the garden as well as I do and we, the squirrels and I, scrutinize the fruit to see how long it can ripen on the vine.  I imagine a chorus of “Oh, rats!” when I pick it in the morning.  They were probably disappointed when I realized we’d planted an heirloom tomato that is bright yellow when it’s ripe.  They got away with the first 5-6 until I read the tomato tag.

My ichiban eggplant

My ichiban eggplant

We have lots of beautiful purple eggplants.  The type is ‘ichiban’ which my then-college age daughter GE says is Japanese for ‘best of all.’  She named a grey tabby Ichiban; the cat was a contender for the My Cat from Hell television show.  Best of all HELL cats!  I’m looking up Japanese eggplant recipes since it looks like eggplant produces like okra.  One plant=muchmillion okra.

The spider's herd of dead flies

The spider’s herd of dead flies

I’ve turned into a spider watcher.  There are webs at each of the tomato supports spanning the full width of the Earth Boxes.  Our spider pets are orb weavers, I think, which would be helpful for us during mosquito season.  Orb weavers are party animals after dark and trap flies and mosquitos.  The Orkin man thinks they are nuisances but he doesn’t have to do the ‘no me moleste mosquito’ dance while he’s unlocking his front door.  I do.  It’s not as cute as the chicken dance.  Looks a lot more like the ‘oh my goodness there’s only ONE bathroom stall’ dance.

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Corpus Christi, Food, Gardening, Sober Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

