Primarily Texas

Our parents thought that one of the most important things they could do as citizens of Texas and the U.S.A. was to vote.  That’s a little unusual since our ancestors on both sides of the aisle immigrated in the 18th century or before.  Such patriotic fervor usually belongs to naturalized citizens;  long time citizens seem to take voting as irrelevant.

“Every election is determined by the people who show up.”
― Larry J. Sabato, Pendulum Swing
(Only 12% of Texans showed up to vote in the 2012 primary election.)

I’m not sure what our parents’ party affiliations were.  The privacy of the ballot box was strictly adhered to although I think that was because they had at least one blabby daughter.  I have long ago learned to say “NO!” when asked if I can keep something a secret.  I suspect like most Texans in the 60’s and 70’s, our parents were southern Democrat which would roughly equal moderate Republicans today.

I am a bleeding heart liberal Democrat.  That isn’t a point of argument or discussion.  I am liberal Democrat like I am left-handed and consider cold fried fish the breakfast of champions.  I listen to other folks’ POV with tolerance, often thinking how dumb they are if they don’t agree with me.  I avoid exhorting too strenuously since I doubt I can change their minds any more than they will change mine.  My friend Glenda observed, “Have you ever said, OhmyGod!  I have voted wrong for the past 40 years!  Thank you for setting me straight.   

"Win or lose, we go shopping after the election."  Imelda Marcos.  IOr we go to Dairy Queen.)

“Win or lose, we go shopping after the election.” Imelda Marcos. (Or we go to Dairy Queen.)

I like voting. I don’t subscribe to the feeling that it doesn’t matter whether I vote or not.  Living in a small city, I can see the difference my vote makes in the school board and city elections.  It’s probably less of a difference as we move to statewide and national elections, but I’m not going to take a chance.  My son Jack’s first election was the presidential election in 2008.  We had glare contests through the primary elections since he was an Obama supporter and I backed Clinton.  I watched him caper up to the voting booth to vote in his first national election.  He woke me the morning after with the front page of the paper as he exclaimed, “We won, Mom!  We won!!!”

My granddaughter Savanna texted me that she’d registered to vote when she got her new driver’s license.  She was so excited that I had to smile.  The Texas primary election was Tuesday, 3/4.  Savanna looked up her precinct so I could take her to vote after school.  I live in a different county so I voted earlier in the day.  I promised to take a friend who is a resident at an assisted living center to vote.  When I went to get her, she had 2 friends with her.   I joked that I’d only give them a ride if they were voting my way, but it was only a joke. I’m a Democrat and democratic.

The ladies and I had to make 2 precinct stops and then got DQ blizzards before I took them home.  Savanna and I went to a CCISD elementary so she could cast her ballot.  She found out how voting machines when she tried to select language preference and started poking “English” harder and harder.  Nothing happened.  The election monitor startled her when he touched her shoulder and whispered, “They’re not touch screen.”

“Elections belong to the people. It’s their decision. If they decide to turn their back on the fire and burn their behinds, then they will just have to sit on their blisters.”
― Abraham Lincoln

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Bleeding heart liberal politics, Corpus Christi, Family, Philosophy, Texas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

