My Happy Birthday Walk

happy birthdayI wish I were the kind of selfless person who says their birthday’s just another day.  I am not.

I love my birthday!  Our mother woke us on our birthday morning with the story of her trip to the hospital and first view of us in the delivery room.  As kids, she told us the tale at the breakfast table; as adults, we got an early morning phone call.  We got to pick our birthday dinner, whatever we wanted. We weren’t epicures so Mother wasn’t challenged beyond tacos or fried chicken.

Birthday gifts usually included a new Sunday dress that Mother made while we were at school so it was a “surprise.”  I usually got drawing paper and sometimes a box of charcoal.  That’s not the birthday equivalent of lumps of coal.  We used charcoal sticks in Mrs. Triplett’s art class.

I’ve enjoyed 61 “Happy Birthdays.”  Maybe, enjoyed them all is an exaggeration. Some stand gloriously out in my memory.  One that is inglorious is my 40th birthday.  It was the last landmark birthday before I got sober and my alcoholic selfishness made my family an exhausted wreck by the end of the day.  Talk about a season of our discontent; that day was the beginning of the end and I didn’t even know it.  Thank God for my inability to see the future.

We will really be "match-matchy."

We will really be “match-matchy.”

This birthday we will spend the week-end  at GE’s house.  We are participating in the Walk to End Alzheimer’s Disease in Austin on Sunday.   Dave’s Girls is a reality and we are walking together in memory of our dad who was released from this disease to go home finally on May 8, 1986.

That means all three of us sisters with our children.  Everyone except Georgie the 1st’s Aley in Virginia who will be walking in spirit.  Getting together like this is unusual for us.  We are busy and independent women with busy and independent daughters so the idea of having us all together is crazy exciting.

Can’t resist getting in a donation plug so if you want to support Dave’s Girls in body, come to Camp Mabry in Austin to walk with us.

If you want to support Dave’s Girls and Alzheimer’s Association with $$$, click http://act.alz.org/site/TR/Walk2014/TX-CapitalofTexas?team_id=224169&pg=team&fr_id=5433 and donate away!

 

 

 

 

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Aging, Family, nostalgia, Sisters, Sober Life, Texas, volunteerism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

