Things I do for fun

My definition of fun has changed over the years.

There was a time when it involved Strawberry Hill and psilocybin.  I am too old to use ‘shrooms to describe cow patty mushrooms found off South Texas country roads.  Later, fun involved anything with country music and beer.  Lots of beer.  Or wine.

It’s been many years when “just add alcohol” were the directions necessary to change regular Margaret into party Margaret.  Today, family and friends are usually involved and the memories are in clear focus.

Part of our walking team on Sunday's Walk to End Alzheimer's

Part of our walking team on Sunday’s Walk to End Alzheimer’s

I spent last week-end participating in the Walk to End Alzheimer’s.  We couldn’t have had better weather.  Even the misty rain that fell for 5-10 minutes didn’t dampen our spirits; it cooled us off instead.  I had time to visit with my sisters and when asked, “What’s new?” reported that I’d enrolled in the H & R Block tax course.  And that it was fun.

“Fun?” my younger sister asked.  (Fun.  Really, really fun.)  

I am truly enjoying my class.  I have been doing the same kind of work that I do for 30 years.  It’s rare for me to meet someone new who has lived in the south Texas area and worked in civil construction.   I’ve known most folks for many years.  It isn’t that large of a community.

So maybe it’s the chance to do something new and meet different folks.  There’s a mix of people in our class.  We started out with 15 students and have 7 survivors as we pass the halfway mark of class time.  Our instructor predicted that we would become friends by the end of class and I thought, “I don’t think so.”  The truth?  I look forward to seeing everybody in the class.

My companion on most days recently

My companion on most days recently

It might be the fact that accounting work has a beginning and an end and everything comes into balance.  With estimating there’s a certain amount of guess-work.  Who am I kidding?  There’s a reason why we call it “guestimation.”  Those tax returns aren’t like that.   In fact, I understand that the IRS frowns on guessing on tax returns.  They taught that on the 1st night.

It doesn’t hurt that Bob and I started a business this year.  RM Weaponry provides an outlet for Bob to sell the rifles he makes and perhaps provide us with a side income when we retire in a few years.  I am getting some good information about self employment and what we can and can’t write off.

RM Weaponry is a partnership which would normally require us to file a Form 1065 (U. S. Return of Partnership Income).   I learned last week that since Bob and I married and live in a community property state, we can file as a sole proprietorship and just add our income or loss to our standard income tax form.  The two of us count as 1 entity.

Interesting.  When we married, Bob and I became 1 in the eyes of God AND the IRS.

 

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Family, H & R Block, Humor, Relationships, Sober Life, Texas, volunteerism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

