The longest election season ever

And look how it’s turned out.

I have been listening to folks campaigning for president since 2013.  The angry talk, mean discourse, finger-pointing, accusations have intensified over the past few months.

I love politics.  I was raised by parents who loved history so political discussion was served at the dinner table.  As a child, we watched both the Democratic and Republican conventions as a family with our parents commentating about the promises and platforms.  I could guess which candidate got their vote, but they were pretty private about their leanings.   I suspect my inability to keep a secret contributed to their silence.

The first time I voted was in a local springtime election.  I did my voter registration with our dad and rode with our parents to the polling station.  Incredibly exciting stuff for this nerd woman.

When GE started high school, she joined the debate group.  The coach was passionate about debate and politics, introducing my daughter to conservatism.  I was wounded in the ego when she interrupted my monologue on Ronald Reagan and stated that she “would NEVER be a bleeding heart liberal like me.”  (Really?  Eyebrow raised.) (Really.  You have to accept that not everyone thinks like you do.)

Because I didn’t.  I don’t.

I don’t like it when the end of the story doesn’t match my expectations, when the character I’ve grown to love dies at the end of the story or is left alone, abandoned.  That’s the way I felt early, early this morning when I realized that Donald Trump had been elected our next president.

Throughout the past few months, I’ve listened to this vulgar, rude, crude man espousing hatred and fear mongering.  What was his platform?  Muslims are bad.  Mexicans are taking our jobs.  Women are playthings who want men of power.  I am smart.  I have a big brain.  I have good ideas, the best ideas.  What were they?  Never said.  He derided everything good and noble.  And people listened to him, followed him, voted for him.

It never feels good when your candidate loses.  I will never forget JD in 2008 after Obama was elected.  He waited for the newspaper and came bounding into my bedroom at 5 AM, waving the front page:  “We won!!!  We won!!!”

I went into mourning when Nixon won a second term.  I was saddened at the election of Reagan, HW Bush, and GW Bush.  I wasn’t thrilled with any of them, but I didn’t feel the sense of dread that I feel this morning.  I can’t look at the people who voted for him in the same way.  This man is your savior?  I am wondering what part of the Jesus story you read.  Do unto others NOW and do it fast and mean?  Whatsoever you do to the least of my brothers is OK by me? They are the least, after all.  Probably deserve what they get.

I need to take a break, hang out with God, and sort things out. I am deactivating my Facebook and Twitter accounts.  I am not sure that social media is good for me right now.   I know that whatever side you are on, you are not my enemy, but I’ve lost my perspective. 

 

 

 

About texasgaga

I am a mom, a grandmom (Gaga to my 2nd oldest grand-child), a sister, a friend, a construction estimator, a homeowner, an active member of a 12 step recovery group, an artist, a reader, a survivor, a do it yourself wannabe, a laugher
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

